RCBC Environmental Awards 2017

Each year the Recycling Council of B.C. recognizes the valuable contribution that individuals and organizations make towards the preservation and protection of British Columbia's environment.

RCBC Awards Banner

Submit a Nomination for the 2017 RCBC Awards

The awards will be presented at the 2017 RCBC Conference from June 21-23, 2017 in Whistler, BC. 

Congratulations to our 2016 Recipients!

  • Private Sector: Organizations or their employees with outstanding initiatives to preserve and protect our environment. 
    2016 Recipient: Green Coast Rubbish

Green Coast Rubbish was the recipient of the 2016 RCBC Environmental Award for the private sector category. They use sustainable waste diversion practices to maximize the reuse and recycling of materials for commercial, residential, construction, and property management clientele.  Green Coast Rubbish has recycled over 4 million pounds of materials while striving to innovate the way that waste is managed within the community. Working with Habitat for Humanity, Green Coast Rubbish partnered with them to support their deconstruction program by diverting architectural waste from landfills. This program also creates valuable opportunities for volunteers and raising money to build affordable housing in the Greater Vancouver area.

  • Public Sector: Governments or their employees who have demonstrated excellence in the environmental field. 
    2016 Recipient: Metro Vancouver -- National Zero Waste Council

Metro Vancouver was the recipient of the 2016 RCBC Environmental Award for the Public Sector category.  Metro Vancouver has been the frontrunner in calling for changes in waste management. In 2012, they called upon governments, businesses and community leaders to work together to come up with ideas to modify the current thinking of waste management in a linear economy to waste prevention and sustainable materials management in a circular economy. Metro Vancouver worked with the Federation of Canadian Municipalities to for and launch the National Zero Waste Council in 2013. This innovative approach shifted the focus from “managing the issue of waste” to tackling the root of the issue of the take-make-dispose mentality. 

  • Non-Profit: Organizations providing services beyond expectations in environmental stewardship.
    2016 Recipient: Product Care Association

Product Care was the recipient of the 2016 RCBC Environmental Award in the Non-Profit category. Over the past 15 years, Product Care has been one of the leaders in post-consumer paint recycling in Canada. They are now involved in the recycling of seven other material categories: pesticide, fertilizers, flammable liquids, smoke and CO alarms, solvents, lamps and light products, as well as appliances. Product Care went from post-consumer paint recycling in BC in 1994 to expanding to eight more provinces in the past 21 years. They have created multiple robust networks of collection sites, materials transporters and processors leading to lower costs for other industry stewards as well as consumers.

  • Innovation Award: Individual or company that achieves an outstanding technical accomplishment in design or development of a product or process that improves its sustainability or advances zero waste practices.
    2016 Recipient: BC Technology for Learning Society

BC Technology for Learning Society was the recipient of the 2016 RCBC Environmental Award in the Innovation category. BCTFLS’ mission is to improve learning and protect the environment by refurbishing and recycling used technology. They provide increased access for students and learners of all ages to technology, where they might not have had a chance to before. BCTFLS practices ethical recycling of computer waste and promotes environmental stability through effective computer re-use models. Their vision is for a British Columbia with universal and sustainable access to technology to facilitate life-long learning.

We thank all those who submitted their organizations for consideration. We congratulate all the recipients and nominees for their contributions to environmental stewardship in British Columbia.

RCBC Awards Over the Years
The RCBC Awards over the years...

View Past Winners 2006-2015